trowsers

according to position on the crew...and when/how you went on the account.

for instance a captain most often, from my reading, wore a bit tighter then the regular jacks as they were often privateers before becoming full pirates. Also, was he a regular jack elevated to captain or was he prior an officer that mutinied. Those that mutined would have his officer uniform which would have been tighter breeches then those that were under him.

Regular jacks wore the looser fitting ones for ease of movement climbing the rigging etc.

Hope that helps ;)

Lady Cassandra Seahawke

Captain of SIREN'S RESURRECTION,

Her fleet JAGUAR'S SPIRIT, ROARING LION , SEA WITCH AND RED VIXEN

For she, her captains and their crews are....

...Amazon by Blood...

...... Warrior by Nature......

............Pirate by Trade............

If'n ye hear ta Trill ye sure to know tat yer end be near...

It all depends on the time period, the social status of the person, his rank, and what the hell he was wearing at the time before he became a pirate.

But first to answer your question "ive always wondered if pirate reinactors, fans etc wear tight pants or baggy ones."

Since very few of the people who do pirate impressions are what I would call actual reenactors, you see a whole plethora of leg coverings, from knee breeches to slops to sweatpants to kilts. Noone has any standards and if you try to point that out they probably just stare at you in slack-jawed incomprehension or find some suitably "pyratical" thing to say like "yarr...me wears whatever me wants, yo ho me hearty, eh what?" So in other words: wear whatever you damn well want and no one will care one way or the other.