America Founded by Pyrates?

DirectorDave

From my studies, true enough. In fact many of our Founding Fathers were in volved with smuggling, privateers, and pyrates as a manner of doing business. This was just a way to get around the excessive British taxes. So, they wouldn't think twice to hire their friends to roust the Royalies.

Lady Cassandra Seahawke

Captain of SIREN'S RESURRECTION,

Her fleet JAGUAR'S SPIRIT, ROARING LION , SEA WITCH AND RED VIXEN

For she, her captains and their crews are....

...Amazon by Blood...

...... Warrior by Nature......

............Pirate by Trade............

If'n ye hear ta Trill ye sure to know tat yer end be near...

I'm pursuing a story about the American armed forces recruiting pyrates to fight the British fleet during the American Revolution.

That sounds neat. Fwiw, I should've been in Williamsburg filming some scenes for a documentary on the surrendur at Yorktown this weeknd, but I've come down with something and decided to stay home instead. :rolleyes:

I was told that they did this because a Navy did not exist at the time, and Pyrates were the best resources.

True? Or just an ol Pyrate's tale...

Well, it is true that privateers were heavily relied upon, but completely false that the Continental Navy did not exist. In the library where I work, we have at least four volumes of Continental Navy records from the Rev War.

You may want to find a copy of Pirates and Patriots of the American Revolution. You should be able to find one for a reasonable price.

My Home on the Web

The Pirate Brethren Gallery

Dreams are the glue that holds reality together.

I know one thing...the American Revolution started with the burning of the HMS Gaspee in 1772 in Narragansett bay in Rhode Island, which happened what was then known as Namquid Point. (now Gaspee point)

The HMS Gaspee was pretty much the scourge of piracy between New York and Boston.