*Sigh* The more you learn....

JoshuaRed

...the less you know.

Does anyone else just feel overwhelmed here sometimes, when studying early 18th century seafaring life? Geez, I swear the more I learn the more questions it brings up. So many dead ends, so much we'll never know. So many texts still to read...it makes the head spin! Hopefully in 20 years I feel like I can call myself an expert on GAOP. And I've been studying it like a madman for 10 years already!

newbannersigtar0db.gif

Well I think it is a damn good sign that you feel like that.

A person can know enough to fill ten encyclopaedias, but if they don't realise that they still know only a small minority of what there is to be known, then they will remain a fool in my eyes.

On a subject of little relevance to pirates (except to Belladonna Bess, who has an unhealthy interest in botany), I once worked with a man who is by any account a botanical expert, and perhaps one of the greats (well he is my personal hero anyway).

Never once did I see him bothered when he couldn't answer a question or made a mistake, if he was stumped he would say so (ok I know it was a rare event, but I did see it happen).

He was also not so great that he couldn't ask the opinion of a lowly bilge rat (or technician as I was officially titled) like myself. He is still learning and doing valuable work in botany, and he is now about 75.

If ye think ye have a lot to learn - YE BE RIGHT!

But that's a good thing.

Belladonna Bess (who is new to this whole pirate research thing but is disturbingly knowledgable about poisonous plants)