handcuffs and leg irons

oh yeah i almost forgot, im looking to find me a pair of period handcuffs and leg irons, i want to add these to my collection and perhaps add them as a display item at events (im in law enforcement an want to sorta combine my mundane side and my sca side together somewhat)

ahhh... SCA eh? From Trimaris, I take it? Do you attend Gulf Wars?

And are you looking for this kind?:

Shackles

This is the best price on shackles I have found. I have a pair of these myself.

Leg Irons

Leg irons are a bit harder to find.

Captain_Sigart.jpg

Captain of the Iron Lotus

It is the angle that holds the rope, not the size of the hole.

ahhh, tis a shame... Gulf War is *the* event for me.

as fer the irons... both are up for grabs on ebay... that's where I get 90% of my small stuff

and I used to be a reserve patrol officer... now I'm going for my PI license

Captain_Sigart.jpg

Captain of the Iron Lotus

It is the angle that holds the rope, not the size of the hole.

What ho,

the earliest reference I've found to a Master-at-Arms in the Royal Navy was 1700 when the title appears on the pay lists for the first time. However, at the same time the "Corporal" disappears from the pay lists and since they did much the same job I'm inclined to think that the Master at Arms replaced the Corporal. The Corporal was first added to navy pay lists in 1588. I've not come across any reference to merchant or pirate ships carrying Masters-at-Arms or Corporals.

Foxe

"With this Fore-Staff he fansies he does Wonders, when, God knows, it amounts to no more but only to solve that simple Question, Where are we? Which every chi'd in London can tell you." - Ned Ward The Wooden World Dissected, 1707

ETFox.co.uk