Doing Pirate research, who can help?

Greetings, new member here. In my real life I am a part-time writer trying to be full time. I'm currently working on a book where pirates focus heavily. Particularly Port Royal, towards the end of it's time afloat. What I'm especially looking for is the flavor of a pirate town. What people ate, what merchants were there, what homes were like, ya know daily things. Cause the book will include time at sea as well as a prominent character who lives on Port Royal, owning a pub.

I have a couple books, like Pirates own Book and Under the Black Flag. so if anybody has any good books to recommend, or films this would be great.

What about the festivals. Might any of these be of help. Thinking of heading down to the one in the keys. Research, you know. Haha.

By the way, great site, great boards.

Ahoy Grace,

I would recommend contacting Cindy Vallar. She is an author/researcher/librarian who has done extensive research into piracy. She teaches on-line seminars for writers that are very good and produces a piracy newsletter that is always full of facinating research. You can access a great many of her on-line articles here:

Cindy Vallar's Pirates & Privateers

There are specific sections on Port Royal

also on

food and life aboard ship

Cindy is a terrific gal, very patient and helpful. I took her on-line piracy writer's seminar and gained a great deal from it. I believe my cost was about $15.

-Claire "Poison Quill" Warren

Pyrate Mum of Tales of the Seven Seas

www.talesofthesevenseas.com

Thanks alot. This will be a big help. I was particularly looking for Port Royal info. This seems to be limited, other then the archeology site. Am I speaking to a fellow writer, also with a heavy interest in pirates? If so hello.

What do you think about any of the festivals as a way of absorbing color to put into a book. I could see that if it suited my book, a large renaissance faire would be helpful.