JohnnyTarr

I am so cold these last few weeks that I am going to thaw myself out one way or another. I am going to make my own chilli recipe. I found three other recipes that I am going to work with and make my own out of. Now I was just wondering if chilli could be in GAoP? The chilli pepper is from Mexico and was brought to the rest of the world by the Spanish in the mid 15th century. I could believe that cooks on ship would use the pepper to spice up and cover up bad tasting food. What say you all?? :(

Git up of your asses, set up those glasses I'm drinking this place dry.

My Dear Mr. Tarr,

What I have to offer is by no means an expert opinion. And, furthermore, it is information I garner'd as a 'lubber. I have no sure knowledge of what might have been true on ship...

But, despite all we have been taught about heavily spiced mediaeval dishes that used great amounts of spices to preserve, or even to cover that fact that the meat or fowl was actually putriyfing, the truth is that the very spices we now buy for pennies an ounce were, at the time, traded weight for weight with gold. On land, it was hardly worth wasting them on putrid meat!

Best regarrrds,

Captain Jigme

PS: I have no direct knowledge, but fancy presents that the reality of being on a ship would not be how best to season one's food, but how best to ignore the maggotts.

One possible origin for Chili can be found by the Native Americans: There is a cecipe called "Pemmikan". It´s a mix from dried meat, fat, spices and dried berrys.

I guess Chili is post GAop. The oldest recorded recipe I know of is from "Mrs. Owen's Cook Book" (1880). Another old recipe can be found in the "Manual for Army Cooks" (War Department Document #18), 1896.

But, despite all we have been taught about heavily spiced mediaeval dishes that used great amounts of spices to preserve, or even to cover that fact that the meat or fowl was actually putriyfing

That is one of many scientific assumptions... but still discussed.