Spammers

Lady Seahawke

Ok, I click online this morn and about half :lol: of the new posts were spammers. I could tell just from the topic and description...

I didn't click onto any of it...With some spammers when you click onto it multiplies on its own...and/or takes your AP address and sends the crap to your homecomputer. :lol:

Therefore, might I suggest that when we see from topic description what looks to be spam that NO ONE click onto it! If there is no reaction to it, they have no reason to continue.

Just my two cents worth.

:lol:

Lady Cassandra Seahawke

Captain of SIREN'S RESURRECTION,

Her fleet JAGUAR'S SPIRIT, ROARING LION , SEA WITCH AND RED VIXEN

For she, her captains and their crews are....

...Amazon by Blood...

...... Warrior by Nature......

............Pirate by Trade............

If'n ye hear ta Trill ye sure to know tat yer end be near...

Hopefully, people have learned not to click on links that look even remotely suspicious, especially if there are several of them and they are from brand new users.

However, it is my understanding that, for the most part, they cannot send stuff to your home computer based on your IP address. From http://www.whatismyipaddress.com/:

"ISPs [internet Service Providers - whoever supplies your internet service] now issue IP addresses in a dynamic fashion out of a pool of IP addresses (Using DHCP). These are referred to as dynamic IP addresses. "

Most likely your ISP is changing your address dynamically each time you log on. So the spammers can't send you anything.

There are other things that protect your computer from this as well. From http://www.cert.org/tech_tips/home_networks.html:

"Every computer on the Internet has an IP address associated with it that uniquely identifies it. However, that address may change over time, especially if the computer is

* dialing into an Internet Service Provider (ISP)

* connected behind a network firewall