Jack the Monkey

Caraccioli

So, I decided to do a POTC-inspired haunt for the Jaycee's Haunted House this year. (I've been doing at least one room a year for the last 15 years.) I don't have photos of the whole room on the web yet, but the centerpiece was a prop of Jack the Monkey.

The whole thing was inspired by a conversation I had with Iron Bess asking her about getting Disney to make a life-sized, undead Jack the Monkey prop. Then it occurred to me..."You know how to do this. Make your own freakin' monkey!" So I did. You can see him here.

"You're supposed to be dead!"

"Am I not?"

gallery_1929_23_24448.jpg

Dang.... that came out cool.....

ain't latex and toilet paper fun..... :P

I pre-mix latex paint with the latex, so it will fill in all the parts, and then do washes and drybrush over the finished project.... unfortunately the only thing I have right now is the Orc head from last year.......

That putrefying primate is a work of art! Well done, Caraccioli!

I've always found the name "Jack the Monkey" a tad lewd, though. [And perhaps that's what Disney intended...].

I tend to parse the first word as a verb, analogous to the expressions "spank the monkey", and "shock the monkey".

Cheers, Hester

pirate-jenny-text.jpg

So, I decided to do a POTC-inspired haunt for the Jaycee's Haunted House this year. (I've been doing at least one room a year for the last 15 years.) I don't have photos of the whole room on the web yet, but the centerpiece was a prop of Jack the Monkey.

The whole thing was inspired by a conversation I had with Iron Bess asking her about getting Disney to make a life-sized, undead Jack the Monkey prop. Then it occurred to me..."You know how to do this. Make your own freakin' monkey!" So I did. You can see him here.

I love it! Thanks for sharing your photo of Jack.

B)

Fantastic work, and great detail!

"Disobediant Monkeys will be shot, Disobediant Undead Monkeys will be shot repeatedly until morale improves"