press gangs

press gangs............................i know only a little about them , anyone who is familiar with the history of and or how they opperated please reply, ............and were they mostly attriputed to the royal navy or did private navies like privateers and merchantmen use the same techneques?

I'm not an expert on this, but I'm fairly sure that it was limited to royally backed ships. It needed to be done "by authority of the king/queen" or else I don't think they would have been as successful as they were. A private captain trying to send a press gang ashore would probably have a hard time of it without official orders. I think private pressings were more subtle, usually by buying round after round until the hapless sailor passed out, and woke up the next day out to sea.

newbannersigtar0db.gif

There are a couple of important errors on the thread mentioned which I'll comment on here;

Not everybody was liable to be pressed. In theory only seamen could be forced to join the Navy, though what constituted a seaman could be vague at times and include inshore fishermen, river boatmen, ferrymen etc. That it was possible to bring claims against press gangs who picked on men other than seamen is shown by the case mentioned on the other thread of agricultural workers being pressed and their wives successfully lobbying to have them released.