At sea in the 1760s

gibbs

I was fortunate to receive some valuable answers the last time I posted a question in this forum, so I thought I'd try my luck again.

I'm embarking on a new project, a fictional account of a brig returning from England to its home port in Rhode Island in the 1760s. I have the story itself worked out. But I've run aground on the details. The truth is, I have very little nautical knowledge, especially as it relates to the mid-18th century.

I'm wondering if anyone here can recommend books or any other source material that I might use to familiarize myself with life at sea during the 1760s or thereabouts. I'm interested to know the layout of such a ship (brig), nautical terminology of the day, the crew's duties, the daily routine of sailing and tasks involved, that sort of thing. I value historical authenticity, so I'm willing to put in the research time.

I'm hoping someone here can point me in the right direction.

Thanks.

Shipmate, I bought, a few months ago, but just started reading last night, SHIPS AND SEAMEN OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION, by Jack Coggins, available from Dover Publications.

Also, someone just a few days ago handed me a printout of a few pages about cannon from PIRATES AND PATRIOTS OF THE REVOLUTION, by C. Keith Wilbur, available from The Globe Pequot Press: if the rest of the book is as good as those few pages, the book must be terrific!

Granted, these are re the 1770's; but I can't imagine that things changed that much in 10 years for Jack Tar.

Capt William

"The fight's not over while there's a shot in the locker!"

I'd like to add:

"The Wooden World: An anatomy of the Georgian Navy", by NAM Rodger. Fontana Press, ISBN 0 00 686152 0 (Here at Amazon)

and "Sailors, English Merchant Seamen 1650-1775" by Peter Earle. Methuen, ISBN 0 413 68840-2 (Here at Amazon)