How to tell the difference Cotton>Silk

I found a stash of Old curtains at an Antique flea market last weekend and was wondering how I could figure out wether they were silk or cotton.

I know they burn differently than synthetic but anyone got an idea how to tell the two organic materials apart?

Thanks

Come aboard my pirate re-enacting site

http://www.gentlemenoffortune.com/

Where you will find lots of information on building your authentic Pirate Impression!

Well I'm certianly no expert, but me thinks by the way they feel would tell you. Also, are they lined? If so, I would think they would be silk.

Silk comes in a variety of textures these days. But if they are antique, I would imagine they might have a 'nubby' texture to them, or be sort of 'rough' to the feel. But again, I'm no expert.

*Embarrassing moment: The one time I go to the San Diego Star Wars Society meeting, and Capt. Grey calls me over to look at some material a guy brought in to make a costume with. To me it felt and looked like a polyester blend. I was indignatly corrected that it was silk. I sure felt stupid! :D

Rumba Rue

**I can screw up anything, just give me a chance** :D

I've never tried it, but supposedly burning silk smells like burning hair and burning cotton smells like burning plant fiber.

Take a few yarns twisted together and burn using a candle. Observe the behavior of the yarns as they approach the flame, while stationary in the flame, and withdrawing from the flame.

Cotton approaching should ignite at first contact. While stationary it will burn rapidly and withdrawing from the flame it should smolder, glow, or smoke. They odor (that Master Blackjohn spoke of) should be like burning paper or leaves and the ash should be very little and soft gray.