Well met...

Gwen S.

(Warning: I sometimes write a lot. I apologize. If you don't like walls-o'-text, it's alright, I totally understand! Hello all the same. I'm happy to be here!)

Hello all! I'm a 23-year-old amateur seamstress with a love of costuming ("normal" clothes are so boring!). I learned the basics of sewing from my mother when I was a child, and through high school taught myself everything else that I now know about garment patterning and construction. Classes? Books? Pfft, I've got the Internet! (That said, someday I may go to school for fashion design. But that's the boring part...)

It was probably about six years ago that I first fell in love with historical fashion. I started in the middle of the Elizabethan era and worked my way backwards, absorbing any and all information I came across. Last year... I joined the cast of my local Renaissance faire, playing a (very, very, almost annoyingly) fantasy character. Amusingly, as much as I love dressing all girly, it turns out I'm not as fond of playing girly characters. So when I was recruited to the pirate crew for this upcoming season, I jumped at the chance.