Need some Direction

lmowery

Hello Everyone!

I'm completely new to the site and somewhat to the world of pyracy.

It's something that has always interested me and the fact that I am planning on marrying a pyrate in the near future; I thought I'd better get my act together.

He said this was the place to go to get tips and to get an idea on where to start.

But to be honest, my pyrate is a bit of a history buff; so to ask him for help, other then the address to this site, is a bit intimidating.

:unsure: I feel a bit lost and overwhelmed on where to begin ; so if anyone is up to help school a complete newbie on where to start I'd appreciate it.

Thanks a bunch!

L

Lady L -

Welcome aboard!

First off I'd skewer the bugger for not being more helpful to ye. Ta' find a lass interested in the sweet trade is its own treasure.

Second spend some time reading the topics posted in the Pub to get a flavor of what we're about.

Think about a period persona for yourself... how would you like to fit in, a lady, wench, pirate queen, tavern keeper, dockside shopkeeper, tradeswoman, seaman's wife or a smugglers daughter.

Consider attending a pirate event... talk with the folks there. In spite of their pirate demeanor they're really nice folks.

Pickup some books on piracy and become a bit o' a history buff yer'self.

Ask more questions. :rolleyes:

Jas. Hook

"Born on an island, live on an island... the sea has always been in my blood." Jas. Hook

"You can't direct the wind . . . but . . . you can adjust the sails."

"Don't eat the chickens with writing on their beaks." Governor Sawney

It sort of depends on what you're looking for - like anything, the topic of piracy is pretty broad. Are you after info on history or how to go about re-enacting?

If it's history, Cordingly's Under the Black Flag is a nice general book on the subject to start with.