Roberts's Lieutenants

The Island

I am new to this and am still hunting down books to read and further my knowledge on pirates in general. How many different Lieutenants did Bartholomew Roberts have under his command during his career and how many left his command to start on there own? I am finding information that contradicts on other small websites and just want the clear facts. Did these men like Kennedy, Anstis, Phillips, etc leave voluntairly or just take off in Roberts's ships making virtually a enemy with him? I see references that Anstis started off on his own and worked with Fenn starting his own pirate fleet like Roberts. Maybe, i am dumb but wouldnt it have been safer to stay in the fleet with Roberts and enjoy the spoils or was Roberts not as generous as they say? It just seems so risky and foolish to break away to start your own fame and fortune when the odds were agaisnt you espically in a small group. I just hope someone has the time to break down my questions and help create a list of Lt's and what happened to them.

Thanks

My favorite pirate ship name "The Night Rambler"

Kenedy (spelled with one "N" in the original sources, I think) and Anstis did indeed waltz away without asking Roberts' leave; indeed, Roberts' famous articles were drawn up after Kenedy's defection, with an eye to discouraging any more desertions. Phillips is a different case; he was a forced man taken by Anstis after Anstis left Roberts, was separted from Anstis's crew, and managed to return safely to England, only to start his own career as pirate captain later. Roberts had other lieuteneants of course, notably James Skyrme, who stayed loyal to him to the end.