pirate interviews

murvosh

Pyracy Pub moderator and members,

I'm a graduate student at Emporia State University in the Library Science and Information Management program, which has a distance learning site in Portland. I'm part of a group of four grad students who are researching pirate re-enactors in the Portland area.

I'm posting here in hopes that you and your members would be willing to help us.

We're trying to learn how people involved in pirate-related activities communicate about where events are, costuming and other things related to being a pirate re-enactor. Obviously Pyracy Pub is one of the places and we're trying to find out how things have changed over a time period of up to 10 years.

My group has loosely define pirate re-enactors as people who don pirate garb, attends events, such as the Portland Pirate Festival, at least once a year. This definition also includes people who are hard-core re-enactors who embrace their characters and have accurate costumes or are involved in performances.

If you're living in the Portland area and interested in helping us out, one of us would interview you either over the phone or in person.

Questions would include: How long have you been involved in pirate activities? How do you learn about activities, costuming and other things? What has changed in regards to getting the communication methods from when you first joined to now? If you belong to other groups, listservs, etc., what has changed about them since you first started?

If you are interested, please send me an e-mail either mmurvosh@emporia.edu or murvosh@yahoo.com.

Cheers,

Marta Murvosh

mmurvosh@emporia.edu

murvosh@yahoo.com

Merely out of curiosity...

You chosen subject of investigation could loosely be summed up as "communication amongst a subset of people with a common interest." What lead you to specify that common interest as Pirate Re-enactors?