In your own house drinking of your own rum!

Captain Falkenberg

Avast!

(I thought I'd use that old cliché, as it was originally a Dutch word)

I'm new to this board, so here's the introduction, before you all become impatient and nail my gizzard to the mast:

I'm a 34-year old Dutch writer with a few non-fiction books published, one of which explored the legend of the Flying Dutchman (and I wrote it at least two years before 'Dead Man's Chest', so it's not mentioned). My first novel has been picked up by a big publisher (Arrr, it may be break-through time!) and will be published, if things go according to plan (best laid plans and all that, every pirate knows never to take the next dawn for granted, eh?) sometime around october. It's a pirate novel for kids, hopefully the first in a series of four.

Holland being cold, wet and inhospitable, with nary a palm tree in sight, I need the occasional escape to the Old Spanish Main, so I started looking for an interesting looking pirate forum. And this is what I found.

Now for the piratical stuff:

My favorite real pirates: Bartholomew Roberts, Henry Morgan and Blackbeard.

Fictional pirate: Long John Silver, Barbossa, James Hook and Captain Blood.

Novel: Treasure Island.

Movies: Treasure Island (1990), Captain Blood.

Favorite piratical activities: Wasting everything I've amassed in a one year orgy of plunder, bloodshed and excessive violence in a two day orgy of boozing and wenching. Especially wenching.

cold, wet and inhospitable, with nary a palm tree in sight

Hmmmm.... sounds like Iowa, too.

Oooo... I like 'im already! He likes Barbossa better than Jack!

Glomps him::: Oooo, can I keeps 'im?

B)

Welcome to th' Pub, Falkenberg. Tis a grand pleasure t' have ye here and fantastic that ye found us. Aye, there be no better pirate forum on this vast earth than this 'ere Pub.