History of Mercury

Island Cutter

I am rather new to all of this and I am trying to find out more on the background and history of the GROUP that recreates the 1720 Mercury Careening Camp.

Does this group only assemble and meet at PiP? Is it organized in a particular location, and are there other events where the same or similar is recreated?

My interest lies in becoming move involved with such a group. I wish to represent a Ship's Carpenter from this period and I might like to help with a display and demonstration at PiP. Since I am a professional wooden sign carver, I think it might be interesting to show the public a "repair" being made to the nameboard on the stern section. I would want to run my ideas by someone "officially" to make sure that I am one the right track and what I propose, would be acceptable.

"No Profit Grows Where is No Pleasure Taken."

Well...

Welcome aboard...

William RedWake is who you'll need to contact.

As for the group, the Mercury camp will be new this year at PIP, it's still just on paper, never been done as of yet. William is just a grand organizer and everyone else is just grand as well...

Truly,

D. Lasseter

Captain, The Lucy

Propria Virtute Audax --- In Hoc Signo Vinces

LasseterSignatureNew.gif

Ni Feidir An Dubh A Chur Ina Bhan Air

"If I whet my glittering sword, and mine hand take hold on judgment; I will render vengeance to mine enemies, and will reward them that hate me." Deuteronomy 32:41

Envy and its evil twin - It crept in bed with slander - Idiots they gave advice - But Sloth it gave no answer - Anger kills the human soul - With butter tales of Lust - While Pavlov's Dogs keep chewin' - On the legs they never trust... The Seven Deadly Sins

http://www.colonialnavy.org