Black powder

Abrams

Well, since I'm new to this game, I was wondering about black powder (for firing pistols and whatnot.)

Where is it possible to purchase black powder?

And also, how legal is it?

I've got the heart of a pirate, just not the garb...

The answer to your questions is somewhat based on where you live and wish to use black powder.

Some states are more difficult, (like NJ where I am java script:emoticon(' :blink: ') ) but in less restrictive states, black powder for fun and sport is usually available wherever other amunition is sold. Black Powder can even be ordered through the internet. However, if you are included in the states in the following paragraph, you need to check out your local ordinances, (really a good idea no mater what state you live in, that way there will be no nasty surprise.) funny thing, years ago I bought 50 lb for my cannon's and mortar's, back when I lived in Michigan, and there was not trouble at all doing it, but that was over 20 years ago, now they are on the list below.

"The sale of all black powder firearms and ammunition is regulated by law in the following areas: Michigan, Illinois, California, Hawaii, New Jersey, Rhode Island, Tennessee, and Puerto Rico. Shipping is either illegal or requires some type of license or document exchange. In either case, we do not ship blackpowder firearms to these areas. Check your local and state laws before ordering."

No Fear Have Ye of Evil Curses says you...

Aye,... Properly Warned Ye Be says I

Ah, thanks. I'm surprised New York isn't on that list!

Another question (more or less pertaining to the subject), when most people nowadays fire their flintlocks (let's say, at a festival), are they using ammo or just blanks?

I've got the heart of a pirate, just not the garb...