Re-finishing a French 1733 Pistol

Captain McCool

Last year I bought my first functional flintlock. It is a French 1733 model, pictured here:

P33FR_right.jpg

So far, I like it quite well. It's got a good shape overall, a belt clip, and it sparks quite nicely, though I have not yet been able to actually fire it. It came with a sort of glossy finish that I'm really not very happy with, and as I've worn it this has started to scratch and rub off. What I'd really like to do is take the thing apart, sand down the stock, and refinish it to something not quite as shiny/flakey, and preferably more period. I'd also like to adjust it a little so the metal parts fit a little more seamlessly, which is a problem I have with most all modern flintlock repro's.

I was wondering if any of you have suggestions on what the best way to go about this would be, and maybe even to add some slight imbellishments to the stock. Keep in mind that I am a complete newb when it comes to both woodworking and flintlock firearms.

Anything helps!

Captain Jack McCool, landlocked pirate extraordinaire, Captain of the dreaded prairie schooner Ill Repute, etc. etc.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

"That’s what a ship is, you know. It’s not just a keel, and a hull, and a deck, and sails. That’s what a ship needs. But what a ship is… what the Black Pearl really is… is freedom."

-Captain Jack Sparrow

Yeah I sold one of those pistols...Beautiful weapon.....I would suggest using formb'ys to remove the top coat of laquer and then apply mineral oil to the stock. It actually hardens the wood and brings out the grain. On my Virginia rifle I used straight gun oil on the stock after I got my desired stain on..Really made the Curl pop and gave it that backwoods look. Everytime I clean the gun I coat the stock liberally with gun oil and scratches to the stock just disappear....