Time to upgrade me swag

bbart

:rolleyes:

I made my own pirate outfit from a pattern from the fabric store. I also made the shirt. For this years trip to Catalina I'll be making the pants. I'm thinking of adding a little more trim on the front. maybe a brocade lapel, you can see in one of the photos I do have some gold trim on the front.

I'm not necesarily looking for strict historical accuracy. I think I also need to shorten the jacket also.

I might want to use additional material to stiffen up the hat, maybe some stiff felt. I used wire sewn into the brim to keep it in place

I figured that this is the place to find the experts so I thought I'd see what you think.

I'm new to using hosted photo sites so hopefully this will work. I'm the one in the purple outfit. I was thinking of adding more on the front of my jacket like my friend Capt Jones in the blue jacket

DSCF1946.jpg

DSCF1934rotate.jpg

Sloganpicturecopy.jpg

Go with accuracy, says I, and you will look right at home in Hollywood or the reenacting camp. The reverse is not true. Spend your money once (oops, too late) Go to Captain Twill and go to the "stickied" "Clothing Index" thread up at the top. There is a lot of information in that.

Or take the shortcut and go to see Kass. Here. She has the best patterns for our time period and is active and available to help on this forum.

Buy the right shoes. (Buy boots for Halloween or Hollywood if you feel like it: I have both)

Buy the right socks.

Buy a hat blank and make your own cocked hat.

Make everything else from Kass's patterns.

Get it done by December and come to Key West and live the life of a pyrate.

DSCF2402.jpg

Patrick Hand, Silkie and Meself. Note Patrick's common sailor's short jacket.

IMG_6235.jpg

3ff66f1f.jpg

My occupational hazard bein' my occupation's just not around...