How do you "age" a hat?

I'm no expert on the subject, but I did finally take "the plunge" last month, and made an effort to age some of my pirate garb. Here's what I did:

I waited for a rainy day, then went into a section of my back yard that is mainly dirt and gravel. I put the shirt, slops, and westkit on the ground, and stomped on them. A lot. I ground my heels in. Then I picked up the westkit and smashed it between two rocks (the rocks were a bit jagged, and the holes they made might have been a bit overkill. Fortunately I didn't do it too many times.)

As for the hat, I flung it against a wet brick wall several times, and let it land in the mud. It's a well made felt hat, and its light weight made it difficult to do much simply by throwing it, so I lightly "whipped" it against the wall too. I didn't have the heart to truly lay into it, though, so it still looks a little too new.

After all this I hung it all up and hosed the mud away (much still remained, but it appeared more worn in after the hosing.) I then let it all air dry.

Later I attacked much of the clothing with a seamripper, and then fine-grit sandpaper to "wear" the edges.

It was difficult to jump into beating up my glorious clothes, but I of course knew that new pirate clothes just don't look right. They now look worlds more authentic.

I imagine dozens of folks here can offer plenty of other recommendations.

I AM BILGEMUNKY

Though I usually follow the B-Monk's proceedure, (except I'm usually wearing the items when they're thrown against the wall) A less lethal proceedure is to use tea or food browning. In the studio we would age fabric or straw or most anything by soaking in the browning. The tea and coffee were used for sweat stains on me old hats. Then add some mud here and there to taste and serve...

Rats