Proper Period Etiquette

I've been wondering about etiquette during the GAoP. How similar is it to modern etiquette, what important details are different? Good resources? Big mistakes to avoid?

Anyone care to discuss or am I the only one that thinks of these random things during my daily life?

"If part of the goods be plundered by a pirate the proprietor or shipmaster is not entitled to any contribution." An introduction to merchandize, Robert Hamilton, 1777

Slightly Obsessed, an 18th Century reenacting blog

Well... you had to understand ediquite.... or peave someone... and then get into a sword fight.....

I'm sure someone else can post something better..... but the whole "honor" thing was very important.....

Hey.... me being Pyrate scum....... not a problem........(well not that much of a problem..... not being a Gentleman and such......).....

<hey... I can't afford Honor.... I have to work for a living........> :lol:

Chole, you're certainly not the only one to think about these things. Matter of fact, I just got a book on this very subject on my trip last week. Foxe and I arm wrestled over who was going to buy it and I won!

So I don't have an answer for you right this minute, but I'll read the book and bump this thread in a couple of days. :rolleyes:

logo10.gif.aa8c5551cdfc0eafee16d19f3aa8a579.gif

Building an Empire... one prickety stitch at a time!

I'm no expert here, but if yer talkin Pirate, I would think the only thing which counted as "etiquette" to them would fall more along military or sailors guidelines such as amongst Captain and crew. More of a respect and honor thing or perhaps purely because there were punishments for breaking the "rules"

Plus what ever personal values

::which don't have to be the traditional and commonly discussed values:: a man (or woman) had in their own heart based on their own ideas/ideals which they were fiercly loyal to.