Your Pirate kit

capnwilliam

I just read Hawkyns' post on another forum (SCA-Nautical - heartily recommended for anything nautical pre-17th century) about his 16th century kit, and it set me a-thinkin'...

...what era pirate are ye, and what sort of kit, or gear, do ye use fer yer impression? I mean, the whole shebang; weapons, working knives, hats, frock coats, tents, shirts, smoking items, bottles, lamps, pocket watches, quill pens, belaying pins, etc.

Also, do you consider yourself primarily an historically authentic reenactor with a pirate persona? Or are you primarily a free-form pirate?

To start the discussion: I'm a newbie, so don't have much stuff yet. I've got me sights set on being primarily a reenactor: one of Jean Laffite's Baratarians, but also want to create a secondary fun persona, not emphasizing historical accuracy.

So far I have a bandana (wow! :ph34r: ), Mate Jan is making me some a shirt ,and then some strioed trousers. A buckskinner friend is forging me a sailor's sheath knife. I have a powder horn and possibles bag, made by a living history (full time) reenactor. I have a couple small horns that I intend to fashion into priming horns (all this for the flintlock pistol that I don't own yet!)

We have some ship's lanterns left over from our SCA days. And a couple of belaying pins.

A few folding knives, but I've also ordered a squared-off-blade folder from Ragnar's Forge.

When Mddlesex Village Trading Compannie gets back to me with their mailing address, I'll be submitting an order for a straight-bladed cutlass, suitable for my 1815 impression.

A couple pair of high boots from my SCA era; one smooth leather, one suede (latter best left for the "fun" impression).

Not much yet, as you can see.

What about you?

:ph34r:

"The fight's not over while there's a shot in the locker!"

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic