getting started in reenacting

Ahoy there,

I'm new to this pub here and I've got questions abound mates. How does one get involved in a reenacting crew? Is it a full time adventure or part time? Professional, hobby? Help this young, curious pyrate slake his thirst for knowledge.

Aye Young Pyrate, here is some information.

PYRATE BRETHREN c/o John Macek, 8040 Watermill Court, Elkridge, Md, 21075, (410) 799-1312, email jbmacek@yahoo.com Relive the Golden Age of Piracy. If you are interested in reenacting pirates from the 1690s to 1720s, we'd be interested in hearing from you. Our "ship" currently plies the waters of the Chesapeake with a crew from Maryland and Virginia. Step on up and make your mark in our book.

Or you can go to this site for a few other MD. troupes. www.noquartergiven.net/crews.htm#NORTHEAST

Cheers Mate. :ph34r:

signature4.jpg]

Welcome aboard Young Pirate!

Good question, and Black Foot has started you in the right direction...

I'll add my two cents though.

If you have searched the threads at the pub, or any other re-enacting related sites, you will find that their are different approaches. You used the term "re-enacting" though, and that means different things to different people, so we should probably try to get on the same sheet of music first.

To "generalize", here are the basic types of pirate re-enactors (though, this could apply to all re-enactors, not just pirate) and my estimate as to the percentages that they make up the re-enacting community.

1) Good time, Pirate "inspired" (70%)

These are the folks that are interested in pirates, and use it as an escape from their everyday life. They are more concerned with the "Spirit" of piracy than the mundane minutia, and base their kits off of what they would have worn if they were a pirate (sometimes with, but mostly without historical evidence)

2) Entertainers (10%)