Writting A Film Score To A Pirate Film

DrewT86

(Excuse the long post but I believe it's all necessary information.)

The following was an email I sent to Cap'n Slappy and Ol' Chumbucket, Webmasters of the www.Talklikeapirate.com, in an attempt to find out more information about my current job. (I bolded and Italicized all the information relevant to my cause.)

(Read on)

"Gentlemen,

While searching for information about pirates and pirate lifestyles on the internet, I came across your extremely intriguing site. I would first like to say that I appreciate your thoroughness. It’s refreshing given the kind of search this has been for me. I especially found helpful your “Pirate Links” section. Most of all…the majority of your content is hilarious. Thanks for that. So if I may introduce myself and state my business. My name is Drew Taurisano and I’m a freshman double music major at college in Syracuse, New York. Within the next few years I hope to transfer and become a full-time film score major at another college. And now you might think to yourself, “He’s a music major, why is this kid bothering us?” Well, gentlemen, ‘ye not be the only matey’s that I be botherin’ tonight.’(I tried? Points there, eh?) Anyhow, the actual reason: as I mentioned before, yet, not as completely, I’m studying to further fine-tune my skills as a composer and become a full-time film score major and someday an actual film scorer. This unfortunately isn’t the type of job where you drop off an application at Universal Studios and then they call you for an interview. It, as I’m sure you could guess, is a painfully long process with hours upon hours of studying and lecture, where a great amount of talent is necessary….or maybe if you’re just a damn lucky man, you could fall into the job. I can only hope to claim the later. (I know...it’s still unclear why I’m contacting you.) Well about three days ago, I happened to be in one of those ‘right place, right time’ situations and I ran into a film m