West Coast Pirates?

Captain Tito

Aye mateys, we know so much about Pirates that sailed, landed, invaded, pillaged, and plundered areas of, and close to the Eastern United States. We know about the Caribbean as well. What about the Western US? Did any Pirates land on the California Coast, or Oregon and Washington? I know that for many a year, those areas weren't considered US Territory. It took us a while to get out west. What about the coast of Mexico? Did any sail the Pacific instead of, or as well as the Atlantic? I know there were some Asian pirates, from reading The Pirates Own Book, but don't remember their dates, or names (unfortunately don't have the book anymore).

I would love to hear from anyone who knows. :ph34r:

<span style='font-size:21pt;line-height:100%'>Have Parrot Bay, will travel.

WILL SHARE TOO!!!</span>

I'm no pyrate expert, but didn't Captain Cook more or less pirate the Hawaiian Islands? The history books don't report it that way, but clearly based on native Hawaiin history, it seems he did.

~Tori

Like any unmanned ship, a novice sailor will eventually steer into the wind and then in circles.

I don't think there would have been any pirates cruising along the West Coast as there was nothing to pirate. There were no major settlements or colonies, Spain had no ports there, there were no shipping lanes or tradewinds that hugged the coast. I'm thinking it was a pretty quiet place until the 19th century.

newbannersigtar0db.gif

Okee-dokeee, we'll post this once more...'Pirates of the Pacific, 1575-1742', byPeter Gerhard

Although the Carribean got most of the media attention, to say nothing was going on leaves out some incredible history, from Strong and Cavandish, to Drake,etc. The damn gold all started from the Pacific in the Manila Galleons, erase Pacific Pirates, and you will have no pirate history. Read and then decide for your educated selves....

:blink:

Ahoy Aloft and Alow,