Absinthe

Ransom

With Michael's blessing, I have started this thread for those among the pyrate brethren who take a break from drinking rum once and a while, and flirt with le Fee Vert.

I admit, I am a newbie at this, and have only sampled two brands thus far. Thus far, I have tried:

Lucid...The smell is not its best feature. And Jamie warned me it would taste on the sweet side, and remarked that it reminded him of Good & Plenty candy. He was dead on. As stated on the Wormwood Society review, it's a good starter, but not top of the line.

Pacifique...The bouquet is marvelous! As is the taste. In comparison, Lucid tastes like Thames Embankment. Alas, I had already bought a bottle of Lucid, but will use it in cocktails, not straight, already too spoiled by the Pacifique.

So, anyone else? Rate your favorites, post links, etc. Oh, and let's not forget those spoons! LOL I told Jamie, that even if I ended up hating Absinthe, I would collect the spoons. ;)

The Wormwood Society is a great site, as it gives reviews of hundreds of different brands, plus much more info. Check them out.

Wormwood Society

...schooners, islands, and maroons

and buccaneers and buried gold...

RAKEHELL-1.jpg

You can do everything right, strictly according to procedure, on the ocean, and it'll still kill you. But if you're a good navigator, a least you'll know where you were when you died.......From The Ship Killer by Justin Scott.

"Well, that's just maddeningly unhelpful."....Captain Jack Sparrow

Found in the Ruins — Unique Jewelry

Found in the Ruins — Personal Blog

My first "exposure" was through the "From Hell" film, where they heavily altered the real-life detective that looked for Jack the Ripper into a drugged out, clairvoyant genius. He was addicted to the green stuff (and they show how they used to drink it too). I've heard a fair about the stuff since then . . .

I haven't tried it myself . . .

Not yet . . .

-John "Tartan Jack" Wages, of South Carolina