Garb Question / Opinions

Jas. Hook

What say ye, caricatures or not - unsure.gif

Are striped cloth stocking caps at all accurate or just an artistic character?

Is the ragged bottom slops at all accurate or again just an artistic character of a ragged pirate or castaway?

Jas. Hook

"Born on an island, live on an island... the sea has always been in my blood." Jas. Hook

"You can't direct the wind . . . but . . . you can adjust the sails."

"Don't eat the chickens with writing on their beaks." Governor Sawney

Good questions.

Depends on what you mean by "stocking cap." I'm by no means an expert, but a striped linen workman's cap should be appropriate. There were some elongated knit caps found, but I am not sure if stripes or the very long (think Victorian story book) are accurate.

Slops are a whole argument unto themselves... LOL. I believe there is a whole thread devoted to their authenticity. You might have to dig a bit though, me thinks.

Sorry, I'm not that much help.

Cook and Seamstress to the Half Moon Marauders

Lady Brower's Treasures, Clothing and other treasures

Hell Hath No Fury like the Wrath of a Woman... No that's it. She doesn't need a reason.

www.myspace.com/halfmoonmarauders

www.myspace.com/faerienoodle

I can't help with the cap but the slops I can add my findings and opinions.

We know in the GAOP they had second and third hand clothing. So sure you can ragged clothing but does that fit with your persona? Like Capt'n Sterling told me, "clothing was new once." I know from experience that I won't "age or distress" my clothes. I'm too hard on them at events. Of this is from a historical perspective.

Hmmm good question about the raggy slops... now I am going to stick my neck out here as I am just coming up with my own ideas on this one