Question from a pyrate new to PiP

I am new to the PiP festivities, and historically guided role playing in general. What do participants do while they are at PiP? Do some role play for the public and one another, or teach folks about who they are (character) and about the timeframe they represent? Just curious about what sorts of things a person can participate in down there.

Also, I've skimmed over many a thread here (and PiP site) and will dive in for more detail as time permits, but in terms of role play who is taking on what? I understand the groupings that are listed on the "Who is going" thread, but am interested in the details.

I'm working on obtaining additional implements to assist me as a spice trader and merchant, taking over my father's work to keep the family income going (he mysteriously dissappeared on a routine voyage). I'm doing my best to stick within the time period for my role.

Perhaps we'll meet again under better circumstances. ---(---(@

Dead Men...Tell No Tales.

Welcome, Foolish Mortals...

In short, all of the above in your first paragraph. For example, I believe Mission will be doing a presentation on surgery for the period. Over in Port Royal we do a sugar pressing demo. Most people walk around during the day. Some interact and educate the public. Others choose to be atmosphere and visit with each other. All is fine and adds to the overall show. There are several group activities, namely the attack on the fort and repelling of the pirates.

There are real merchants there along with those in the trade who choose to educate rather than sell. And there are some merchants who do both, selling period gear and goods and doing a fare part of educating shoppers on their use and appropriateness.

I'm sure others have additional input, but all are welcome and we aren't to the point yet where we can all play hard and fast in roles.